The juggler of words

Posted: 11/09/2009 in Book, Literature, Novel, Poetry, Short story, Writer
Tags: , , , , ,

 

 

When the drums begin to beat  untitled
Down the street,
When the poles are fetched and guyed,
When the tight-rope’s stretched and tied,
When the dance-girls make salaam,
When the snake-bag wakes alarm,
When the pipes set up their drone,
When the sharp-edged knives are thrown,
When the red-hot coals are shown,
To be swallowed by and bye–
_Arre_ Brethren, here come I!  

Stripped to loin-cloth in the sun,
Search me well and watch me close!
Tell me how my tricks are done–
Tell me how the mango grows?
Give a man who is not made
To his trade
Swords to fling and catch again,
Coins to ring and snatch again,
Men to harm and cure again.
Snakes to charm and lure again–
He’ll be hurt by his own blade,
By his serpents disobeyed,
By his clumsiness bewrayed,
By the people laughed to scorn–
So ’tis not with juggler born!

Pinch of dust or withered flower,
Chance-flung nut or borrowed staff,
Serve his need and shore his power,
Bind the spell or loose the laugh!
Rudyard Kipling: Juggler’s Song.

 

As a writer, I often feel like a juggler who’s playing with balls as we do with words. First ball could be the technical part of the writing life; the second the story and the third, imagination…

There are many differences between the ways writers do there writing. But more I read and discover my new Americans companions, more I get convinced of the contraries. We do all share the same feeling. We do have to juggle with the tree balls and more every day. We also must deal with the new technology that computer bring to us. This new way of life brings our work to universal perspectives. This is why in my point of view, we try to stay connected with this virtual world by the blogging universe.

French bloggers don’t talk too much about there writing. They discuss but the technical, stories and imagination sources are often like a secret thing… In my opinion, this is the biggest difference between the French and American world of writing.

And this is why I do have great respect for all of you who take the time to share with others the feelings and the experience of writing. Its make the juggle of words more fun and easier…

Do you feel like a juggler?

 

The juggler
Comments
  1. cynthia says:

    Lovely post, Mireille–the Rudyard Kipling poem, the picture, the video (which I should watch every morning before I begin to write!) and your words. Interesting observation: that French bloggers don’t discuss the technical side of writing. And yes, I do feel like a juggler of words.

    • Thank you Cynthia,

      Feel free to try those exercices every morning. It’s true that my fellow french writers don’t discuss often about the technical. They do, but nothing to compare with what I could find on the american post and blogs.

      This is why I appreciate so much every support and advice from you. It’s give to everyone energy and news ideas for writing.

      As you know, writing is a lonely work. So, when I read the preoccupations of others writers, It’s like taking a coffee with you and discuss about our work.

      Thank you!

  2. Linda says:

    I certainly do feel like a juggler, Mireille. I dropped a ball a few times in my current novel, but picked them up and went on without too much embarrassment. And then, I rushed and fumbled at the end, but I took a deep breath, tried again, and now have all three balls in the air.

    I’m glad you find us American writers refreshing in our candor, rather than feel embarrassed for us.

  3. Linda says:

    I forgot to say, I loved that amazing video. Thanks for sharing.

    • I certainly believe you! You are a great juggler and a great writer! And there is no secret for this exercise. It’s a question of keep trying… and one morning, you realise that the tree balls are in the air!

      You are a good writer and a excellent friend of words.

      Thank you!

  4. jenniferneri says:

    Hi Mireille – great post!

    I wonder why the need to keep our writing technique a secret? When I did a reading a couple weeks back one man in the audience asked me some questions about how I write. I answered with pleasure – I love discussing the craft. I was then told how unusual I was for answering, that most writers do not want to share this information. I was taken aback by this, not able to understand. Would a writer not wish to discuss their passion? Would a writer not wish to improve by witnessing how others work? For me, this is part of the joy.

    Oh, and yes, absolutely like a juggler 🙂

    • Thanks you so much for your comments.

      I don’t understand either why a lot of writers don’t have the needs to discuss their passion… I always try to explain or express what ever the readers or an audience wish to discuss. This is how we learn to write better.

  5. Mireille, I’m sorry I missed this when you wrote it. I love the analogy of the juggler. And you’re right about it; I juggle words, ideas, other people’s responses, my laptop, where to send it…on and on.

    Mystery is lost, I think, as we expose all our techniques, but it’s made up with in camaraderie and support. And, thinking about it, who but another writer would even be interested? If our readers wandered in, it would probably scare them off.:-)

    • Thank you Pamela,

      Mystery is lost… Well, may be a little part of the mystery. But not all the magic. It’s still a kind of magical mystery tour to write a poem, a novel or anything.

      And readers usely love to see the writers lost for a moment and come back with a final word like a juggler finale….

      Thank you for you poetry.

Leave a Reply

